Concentration: Returning the Market Place

Bangkok Floating Market 1

Bangkok Floating Market 1

My mind has three qualities: concentration, equanimity and loving kindness.  That’s it.

Dipa Ma

In a famous Zen proverb, one returns to the market place after the work of enlightenment. One brings the skills he or she has developed back into the world.  These women at the floating market south of Bangkok reminded me of this proverb.  Tourists are brought in hordes to this place yet the people marketing their wares go about their business with a calm and concentration that is notable.  It may not be enlightenment but I witnessed something we do not observe in many parts of the world; a people at peace with the bustle about them.

I went to photograph the floating market several years ago during a trip to Bangkok and was first horrified by the insane tourist “scene.”  It was only when I got inside the crammed water course that I began to notice the remarkable individuals in their boats and by the riverside.  What a delight  trying to capture their dignified essence!  I was lucky they were happy to ignore another curiosity seeker with her clicking camera.

Bangkok Floating Market

Bangkok Floating Market

Bangkok Floating Market 2

Bangkok Floating Market 2

******************************************************

The Female Buddha book

The Female Buddha book

At a reduced price at Amazon now!

3 thoughts on “Concentration: Returning the Market Place

  1. Floating market! I visited Thailand twice without visiting Bangkok. I heard that there are many interesting things to experience there.
    The last time I was in Thailand, I went Hat Yai. I got to visit many interesting temples. The fusion of Thai and Chinese culture was so clearly displayed in the whole city. Most interestingly, it seemed like everybody was pretty religious in Thailand. Every ships I entered got a small, beautiful altar. I even saw a Maitreya with a cup of white coffee. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

